Program Structure

Led by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) Program is one of the largest federal programs dedicated to improving health quality at the local level.
QIO Program Structure

How We Serve Medicare Beneficiaries

A graphic of a roman temple showing the structure of the QIO program

The Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) Program structure follows a functional model with two types of QIOs: Quality Innovation Network-QIOs (QIN-QIOs) and Beneficiary and Family Centered Care-QIOs (BFCC-QIOs). Fourteen regional QIN-QIOs work with providers, community partners and beneficiaries on multiple data-driven quality improvement initiatives to improve patient safety, reduce harm, engage patients and families, improve clinical care and reduce health care disparities. Two BFCC-QIOs manage all beneficiary complaints and appeals across the nation, ensuring that beneficiaries are treated fairly and helping them exercise their right to high-quality health care.

Locate your qin-QIO & BFCC-QIO

The QIO Program aligns with the six goals of the CMS Quality Strategy and represents an integral part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) National Quality Strategy for providing better care and better health at lower cost.

CMS Quality Strategy Goals

  • Make care safer by reducing harm caused in the delivery of care.

  • Strengthen person and family engagement as partners in their care.

  • Promote effective communication and coordination of care.

  • Promote effective prevention and treatment of chronic disease.

  • Work with communities to promote best practices of healthy living.

  • Make care affordable.

Help spread the word!